Coding In Math Class!

Welcome! I started this blog as a repository for teacher resources on programming in the math classroom. I’m a former software engineer – turned – teacher, and when my classroom became a 1:1 technology classroom, I made a decision that I was going to introduce every kid to programming and teach them how to become better mathematicians through programming.  Not every lesson has been successful, but I have continued to try, and this year, some amazing things have been happening in my 7th grade math class.  Kids create abstractions and models.  They tinker. They visualize. They ask questions about how to go deeper into a math topic.  They get frustrated, and they persist, and they try harder, and they eventually succeed and feel the true joy of accomplishment, and they want to share with others what they did.  They can articulate what they learned, how they learned it, and what the math in the program does – because they created it.

I welcome your contributions, questions, and feedback.  I hope you decide to come along on the journey.  You won’t regret it!

About dupriestmath

I'm a former software engineer who has taught middle school math and computer science for the past 6 years. I believe every kid has the right to be a thinker. I started this blog to save resources for integrating programming in the Common Core math classroom. I also use it to save my lessons and reflections from teaching budding computer scientists! Coding has transformed how I teach and think. You'll love what it does for you. You should try it.

Leave a Reply

